Jerome is dead!

When I first found out that J.D. Salinger, one of my favorite authors, the mind behind two of my favorite books of all time, “Franny and Zooey” and, of course, “The Catcher in the Rye” was dead, the first thing that came to my mind was… finally. I mean, I’m not exactly happy about his death, it’s just that… well… the crazy old bastard kept on writing all these years, FIFTY years or so, and did he publish anything? Absofuckinglutely not.

I’m very sorry, but the future publisher in me is leaping with joy at the chance that we could all finally get to see what this reclusive limelightscared nutcase had been doing all this time.

Supposedly, there are about 15, that is FIFTEEN! manuscripts locked up in his safe. All this according to one of his neighbors (who I will do my best to murder if it all turns out to be his idea of a joke). This is a publishers dream, or more specifically, this is MY DREAM. I sure am glad I´ll be living in New York to see how it all pans out.

Incidentally, “The Catcher in the Rye” has one of my favorite cover arts ever:

You may ask, what would I do if I was given the opportunity to publish a NEW book by J.D. Salinger? Honestly… I… I’m going to stop writing. But it could happen you know? YOU KNOW? Nah… you don’t know…

2 Responses

  1. haha, point in case, I have this one:

    • Actually I also happen to have a “cheaper” version of the book, perfect for when you like a book so much that you want your friends to read it, but you don’t REALLY trust them enough to handle the better edition.

Leave a Reply

