McSweeny’s Books

McSweeny’s is one (if not THE one) of my favorite Publishers ever. It began as a literary journal edited by Dave Eggers, whom you may know for co-writing the screenplay for “Where the Wild Things Are”, book I love and movie I have been eagerly awaiting to arrive to the god forsaken place that is my home town… Anyway, the project that started out as a literary journal has evolved into a big BEAUTIFULLYDESIGNEDBOOKS making machine.

McSweeny’s began in 1998 but I only just discovered their books a couple of years ago, when I was living in Madrid: “I remember it was raining, the bookstore was about to close when suddenly there it was, looking straight at me, with that beautiful design and a dust-jacket like I´d never seen before, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern… number 23… 23? Just how many other books like this were there?! Oh, my life would never be the same, this is the kind of book that I would measure all the others to, this is what book making is all about!” Or something of that sort… the thing is these books are THE BOOKS to own. Aside from the FACT that the design is perfection (illustration, print design and book critics awards will back me up on this), the titles they publish are a great example of amazing contemporary literature.

The format in wich the books are presented changes constantly, for example, the latest Quarterly Concern was named “The San Francisco Panorama” a Sunday-edition-sized newspaper. One was a book completely devoted comics, another took the form of a bundle of mail. Issue 23, the first one I got, had a dust-jacket that unfolded into an enormous, beautifully illustrated poster. The books are just breathtaking, I mean, just see for yourselves here.

The Fur-Covered edition of “The Wild Things” by Dave Eggers is a MUST for any Maurice Sendak fan. This is the adaptation of “Where the Wild Things Are” that was made for the movie.

These books are impossible to buy in Mexico (ugh…) and VERY expensive to have sent from the U.S.A. So, until the time comes to move to NY, I´ll be browsing ever so often The McSweeney’s Store and salivating…

Here are some Quarterly Concern examples:

You can also fallow McSweeny’s on twitter or you may prefer to read their blog… Nope, I´m not being paid by them, they are just that good.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

