Lost in Translations

When I used to work in a bookstore I had access to pretty much any book I wanted to read. About a month ago I started reading “The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana” by Umberto Eco and I loved it. The book was in spanish and a bit expensive, so I decided this would be one of those books that I would read at the bookstore, free of charge.

However, when I was about half way trough, I came across the same book, only this time in english, at a price so low it was laughable. My thought process was: Okay, I started reading the book in spanish, translated from the italian and I would continue reading it in english. Since I can’t read italian, either way I’m stuck with a translation, so I might as well buy the book I’m loving and read it in the “cheapest” (and ironically the most beautiful) edition.

So now I’m reading a book in english that I started in spanish, and I have to say, I can’t seem to “find my groove”, it just feels weird, like I’m reading ANOTHER book. I’ll keep going at it and hope that this feeling fades as I go trough the pages.

Has this ever happened to you? Honestly, when you start to read a book in a certain lenguage, best keep it that way, don’t change half way (unless it’s for the original text) otherwise you may find yourself lost in translations…

One Response

  1. Been there done that. I did the same thing, just that i started the book in english and loved it, but my grandpa gave me the spanish version, and i continued it in spanish. Wrong turn! I went back to the english (original) version, in no time!like you say, it’s like reading a whole different book. Stick to one version…

Leave a Reply

